FEDERALISM: Separated and Overlapping Powers 

In a FEDERAL SYSTEM, power are permanently divided between a central government and a number of local governments. The 10th Amendment of the U.S. Constitution gave substance to our system: 

“The powers not delegated to the United States nor prohibited by it by the states, are reserved to the states respectively, or to the people.” 

Therefore, in the United States, There are three kinds of powers:

1.) Powers delegated to the National Government..

2.) Those powers reserved to the states.

3.) Those powers that can be exercised by both National and State government. (Concurrent) 

INSTRUCTIONS: Complete the activity below by marking an X in the proper category based on who has the  power in the U.S. Note: both national and state government may have the power or either one may not.

Who has the power?

State Government

National Government

1. Power to enforce laws?



2. Power to declare war and make peace?



3. Power to decide at what age you can marry?



4. Power to coin and issue money?



5. Power to grant titles of nobility?



6. Power to regulate trade?



7. Power to collect an import tax?



8. Power to deprive citizens of life, liberty, or property without due process of law?



9. Power to establish a national religion?



10. Power to establish lower courts?